Vision & Mission

To GOD be the Glory

Permanent Content Needed Here


Osogbo Diocese was created out of old Oyo Diocese on Tuesday 14th March, 1995 and the appointment of her first Bishop was made known by the announcement of the Holy SEE, in Rome through Vatican Press Office.

Before this time, the new Diocese had been part of the old Oyo Diocese, which was raised to the status of a Diocese in 1963 with Msgr OwenMccoy as the First Bishop. Anthony Cardinal OlubunmiOkogie was later ordained as the Auxiliary Bishop in 1971. Bishop J.B Adelakun later became the first indigenous Bishop of Oyo Diocese on Feb 11, 1973 when the canonical erection of the new Osogbo Diocese on 13th May 1995 and Episcopal ordination and installation of it’s first Bishop, Most Rev. Gabriel ’LekeAbegunrin of Osogbo Diocese took place at St Benedict Cathedral, Osogbo. The new Diocese comprises 24 out of the 30 local government areas in Osun State. The Catholic Diocese of Osogbo under Bishop Gabriel ’LekeAbegunrin has continued to Grow in faith, in numbers and in Apostolic activity. The new Diocese inherited a total number of 16 parishes from the old Old Oyo Diocese; it has increased to 43 while the number of Priest also rose from 16 to 70. The number of Religious has equally doubled and the laity has continued to increase in number and in all aspect of lives. Today, St. Benedict Cathedral is frequently flashed on local Television screens to introduce news of Christian events regardless of denomination.


From the beginning, the Catholic Church has provided schools as part of the apostolate. In fact, Catholic Church is a pioneer in the field of Education. Little wonder when Bishop John Oyejola within one year opened St Julius Nursery and Primary School, Ede, St Martha Nursery and Primary School Owode and Our Lady and St Gabriel Catholic COllege, Oke Baale, Osogbo, in addition to Saint Anthony’s Catholic High School Ilesa, St. Mulumba College, Ile-Ife, Holy Spirit High School, Modakeke, Sacred Heart Catholic College, Ipetu-Ijesa, St. Kizito Catholic College, Ikirun, and Our Lady and St. Francis Catholic College inherited by him. The involvement of the Diocese in Secondary Education has no equal. By a happy coincidence, Our Lady and St. Francis Catholic College, Isale-Aro, Osogbo was rated as one of the best 10 schools in the country going by her performances in External Examinations results. Despite the takeover of schools by the Federal Government, the Catholic Diocese of Osogbo continues to exercise its beneficial influence in Primary and Secondary Education. This is done through dedicated Catholic Principals, Headmasters and Staff Members, through their Chaplains  


As with education, the Catholic Church has provided good medical services as its meager resources allowed. This was in the form of hospitals, clinics and maternity centres in Osogbo, Otan-Ayegbaju, Ibokun, Ipetumodu, Ipetu-Ijesa and Aagba.


As stated earlier, Bishop Abegunrin inherited 16 Priests when the Diocese was created in 1995. Currently have 70 indigenous Priests working in 43 Parishes and Quasi-Parishes. May the Load bless our Diocese with more Priests who will be good shepherds of His flock.


Over the years, various men and women religious congregation have equally worked in the diocese. Presently, the diocese has four (4) men religious. They are Missionaries of Africa (MAFR)and the congregation of the Immaculate Heart of Mary (Claretians) of the diocese about 59 women religious are working in different part, they are Sisters of the Archangels of Saint Michael (SSMA), Daughters of Holy Spirit (DHS), Sisters of the Franciscan, Sisters of the Immaculate Conceptions, Sisters of Immaculate Heart of Mary (IHM) and the Sisters of the Handmade of Jesus Christ.


On youth development, Bishop Abegunrin’s concern for the youth is superb. This is done by allowing St. Joseph’s Workshop, Inisa, Pax Metal Workshop, Ede to accommodate and train the youths in furniture making, carpentry and traditional carvings while Ede train young boys and girls in metal work and Rehabilitation Centre for the handicapped in Ipetumodu is doing fine.


The number of Catholics in the twenty one years has increased tremendously. To God be the glory for the number of converts into the church. The faith of the faithful is being sustained by the efforts of our zealous and dedicated Pastors and other Collaborators in the ministry. Various Pious Societies are equally doing well in evangelization drive of the Diocese.


For the glory of God, the first Bishop of Osogbo Diocese, Most Rev. Gabriel LekeAbegunrin was appointed the Arch Bishop of Ibadan on the 29th of October 2013 by the Holy Father, Pope Francis. The new Arch Bishop was installed on the 24th of January, 2014 at SS. Peter and Paul Seminary, Bodija, Ibadan. While this elevation, he oversees the six Dioceses within Ibadan Province, namely Ekiti, Oyo, Ondo, Ilorin, Ibadan and Osogbo as well as being the Apostolic Administrator of Osogbo Diocese. 


On the 2nd of April, 2016. The Holy Father Pope Francis appointed Msgr. John Akin Oyejola as the 2nd Bishop of Osogbo Diocese. With the announcement over Vatican Radio, the vacancy in the diocese come to an end, and the people of God received it with joy. Today, 30th June, 2016, the Bishop-Elect Msgr. John Akin Oyejola is being ordained and installed as the 2nd Bishop of Osogbo Diocese. A new era has begun in the history of the diocese. May the Lord strengthen the new Bishop in the discharge of this pastoral duty of the diocese.

God bless Bishop Oyejola! God bless Osogbo Diocese!!